Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
Driving with a suspended or revoked drivers license is a criminal charge in the state of New York. What seems like a routine traffic stop could quickly turn into serious criminal charges if you have had your license suspended for a previous issue. Even something as minor as failure to appear can lead to a license suspension, and you may not even realize it. Contact David Galison today if you have been charged with driving on a suspended license and discuss your defense options. Mr. Galison is experienced in New York courts and will be proud to work in your defense.
The charge of driving with a suspended license is also known as an ‘AUO’, or aggravated unlicensed operation. There are three degrees of this charge on the books, each with unique punishments to go along with a conviction.
AUO in the 3rd Degree
This is a misdemeanor offense that can be punishable by no more than 30 days in jail and a fine between $200 and $500. This charge is likely when the license suspension is for non-alcohol related offenses.
AUO in the 2nd Degree
If you have had your license revoked because of alcohol related charges, or have a history of driving with a suspended license, 2nd degree charges may be brought. This conviction would be punishable by up to 180 days in prison and a fine of between $500 – $1,000.
AUO in the 1st Degree
The most serious charge, this degree is reserved for the most habitual offenders and those with a history of alcohol related offenses. The punishments for these charges include up to four years in prison and a fine of between $1,000 – $5,000.
No matter which degree of AUO you are being charged with, contact our offices today for a free consultation. Any conviction will have serious negative consequences for the rest of your life. David Galison has worked many of these cases before and is looking forward to bringing his knowledge to your aid.