Due to the serious injuries that can result from a vehicular assault, the individual that is charged in these cases faces potentially serious penalties. Vehicular assault charges carry heavy prison sentences along with large fines, and a conviction on these charges will certainly affect the rest of your life. If you are being charged with vehicular assault in New York, don’t waste any time in starting to build your defense. Contact the offices of David Galison right away to speak with our staff regarding your case.
There are three classifications of vehicular assault within the state of New York. They are as follows -
Vehicular Assault in the Second Degree
If you operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated or impaired in any way, and cause physical harm to another, you can be charged with vehicular assault in the second degree. This is a Class E felony and can be punished by no more than 4 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Vehicular Assault in the First Degree
If, while operating a motor vehicle, you have a blood alcohol level of over .18% and you cause physical harm to another, you can be charged with vehicular assault in the first degree. These charges are punishable with up to 7 years in prison and a fine of $5,000. Also, committing vehicular assault while driving with a suspended license can warrant these charges.
Aggravated Vehicular Assault
If you are accused of driving a motor vehicle in a manner that interferes with the safety of the public highway and you commit vehicular assault, the charge can be elevated to the aggravated category. This charge can carry up to 15 years in prison.
Vehicular assault is a very serious charge with major jail time hanging in the balance. Call our office right away at 516-242-4477 if you or someone you love is being charged. Our team will speak with you regarding your case and get started on building your defense.